Oxford Cricket Club has been in existence for more than 130 years. The formative clubs were Cowley St John CC; who celebrated their centenary in 1974 and Headington United Cricket Club, which was originally part of what is now Oxford United FC. In 1994, the clubs merged and became known as Oxford Cricket Club. As the main Club in the historic City of Oxford, the Club goes under the name of Oxford Cricket Club without forgetting its long and illustrious origins.

Over the years, we have enjoyed a long and successful history and have been pillars of the original Cherwell League, winning the title in 12 of its first 20 years. Since 1994 there have been further mergers, in 2003 when Rover Cowley (formerly Pressed Steel) CC members joined Oxford Cricket Club and in 2004 Oxford CC became formally integrated with the Rover (now BMW) Sports and Social Club at Roman Way. This site now provides the Clubs’ base and home ground. There was a final successful merger in 2008 when Morris Motors CC joined the club.

In the last 10 years, the club has gone from strength to strength and the 1st XI now competes at the highest level of club cricket in the UK, The Home Counties Premier League – becoming League Champions in 2007. Importantly, we have an enviable reputation for fair play. In the last 5 years, we have won the League’s ‘Fair Play’ award three times and were 2nd in the other years. Our culture of playing hard but fair is integral to what Oxford Cricket Club is about.

In 2004, the 2nd XI achieved promotion to Division 1 of the Cherwell League, only two divisions below the 1st XI. This gives the club a strong base to provide high quality and competitive cricket for all aspiring cricketers and helps us deliver our ‘Mission Statement’ of ‘Playground to County Ground’.

Many of our 1st team squad have had 1st Class and Minor County experience and as a club, we have a proven record of accomplishment of developing players who want to progress their game. Our illustrious alumni of players includes the current double Ashes winning England Captain Andrew Strauss, Surrey’s Jon Batty, Northampton’s Jack Brooks and Stuart Hole at Warwickshire.

We have an excellent women’s team who were their League champions in 2010. This part of the club is thriving and the standard improves every year with a dedicated team of coaches.

The club is not just about excellence but also about participation and we have other teams of all levels and abilities spread through the Cherwell League, which along with friendly fixtures, means we can provide the right level of cricket for all. Additionally, we spend a considerable amount of time working on development of cricket in the community coaching over 1600 youngsters a week in schools in Oxford.

Our Youth section operates from U7 to U17 and allows boys and girls to play at the highest level in an ECB Club Mark Standard Club. Coaching by qualified, CRB checked, enthusiastic coaches takes place on a Monday and Tuesday evening at the club ground.

2011 also sees the development of a new venture in conjunction with the club and Magdalen College School (MCS) where we have developed a ‘Centre of Excellence for Youth Coaching’, where we will offer specialist coaching in specific aspects of the game to our own youth players alongside boys from MCS.

Oxford CC is a historic Club with modern ideas and a strong club spirit based on success, high standards of play and coaching for young and old.